Skip to main content

Congratulations to the newly elected 2024 Uplands College Mentors

By 28 August 2023No Comments
Front Row: Katie Mills, Diara Cumbi, Sulinka van Stelten, Nandile Mkhwanazi, Brunielle Broadwell, Lomantjolo Mnisi,

Middle Row: Will Manonga, Amy- Jane Maré, Rhulani Chitambira, Ntsako Khosa, Holleigh Johnstone, Ximene Nhaúle, Cate Storm

Back Row: Marley Waspe, Edwin Ferreira, Danny Snyman, Max Östlind, Joshua Zumbika, Lesihle Fakudze, Gregory Kazandjis, Lethani Ndzabandzaba, Onthatile Manaka

The 2024 Uplands College mentor election process was recently undertaken, with results announced this week amidst great excitement among the Grade 11 year.

The school offers a holistic experience which is structured to provide young people with every opportunity to enter the world. Leadership is a core value that is critical in the journey and during an in-depth election process, eleven Grade 11s were selected to lead to school as school mentors and fifteen were selected as the boarding mentors within the four boarding houses: Goss, College, Bishop and Founders.

During the Mentor Election Process, all Grade 11s are invited to apply. The Grade 11s and College staff nominate a shortlist, after which a final round of voting by the whole of the College takes place. After an interview with a staff panel, the mentors are determined.

“The position of Mentor is the highest honour/position a school pupil can aspire to.  It is a recognition of the esteem in which they are held by staff and pupils, and the potential they hold for real leadership in the school.” – Mr Allan Laing, Head of College.

School Mentors:

  • Brunielle Broadwell, Gregory Kazandjis, Onthatile Manaka, Amy-Jane Mare, Katie Mills, Max Östlind, Danny Snyman, Cate Storm, Sulinka van Stelten, Marley Waspe and Joshua Zumbika.

Boarding Mentors:

  • College House: Brunielle Broadwell, Rhulani Chitambira, Ntsako Khosa, Nandile Mkhwanazi and Lomantjolo Mnisi.
  • Bishop House: Ximene Nhaúle, Diara Cumbi and Holleigh Johnstone.
  • Goss House: Onthatile Manaka, Edwin Ferreira, Lethani Ndzabandzaba and Will Manonga.
  • Founders House: Danny Snyman, Lesihle Fakudze and Gregory Kazandjis.